### MINUTES OF COMMISSIONERS' COURT MEETING

I.

Attached hereto is/are public notice(s) posted for the meeting of October 10, 2017.

II.

The minutes of the Special Meeting of Fayette County, Texas, Commissioners' Court held in the Commissioners' Courtroom (3<sup>rd</sup> floor – Room 303) at the Fayette County Courthouse located at 151 North Washington Street, La Grange, Texas

III.

Attendance: County Judge Ed Janecka, Present

County Commissioner
Precinct No. 1, Jason McBroom, **Present**Precinct No. 2, Gary Weishuhn, **Present**Precinct No. 3, Harvey Berckenhoff, **Present** 

County Commissioner Precinct No. 4, Tom Muras, Present

IV.

County Officials/County Personnel present during all or any part of the meeting: Cheri Herbrich, County Judge Assistant; Julie Karstedt, County Clerk; James Herbrich, Assistant County Attorney; Kathy Kleiber, County Auditor; Janet Carrigan, Emergency Management Coordinator / Floodplain Administrator; Peggy Supak, County Attorney;

V.

Persons in attendance during all of any part of the meeting: See attached "Exhibit A".

VI.

Meeting opened at 8:58 a.m. on motion by Commissioner Berckenhoff, seconded by Commissioner McBroom, votes for 5, votes against 0.

VII.

# PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE AMERICAN FLAG
PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE TEXAS FLAG

"Honor the Texas Flag; I pledge allegiance to thee, Texas, one state under God, one and indivisible."

# INVOCATION

# **AGENDA ACTION:**

1. SUBJECT: Enter into closed (executive) session pursuant to Government Code, Section 551.0785, to deliberate a matter that includes a consideration of information in the medical records of an employee for a benefit from the plan, including a benefit provided by the Sick Leave Pool, Section 2.18 of the Fayette County Personnel Policy Manual, with final action to be taken in open session.

ACTION: Entered into closed session at 9:04 a.m..

PERSONS APPEARING BEFORE THE COURT:

MOVED BY COMMR. Muras, SECONDED BY COMMR. McBroom.

Commr. McBroom, vote for **X**, vote against. Commr. Weishuhn, vote for **X**, vote against

Commr. Berckenhoff, vote for X, vote against

Commr. Muras, vote for X, vote against

Judge Janecka, vote for X, vote against

#### 2. SUBJECT: Return and reconvene to open meeting.

ACTION: Reconvened into open session at 9:59 a.m..

# PERSONS APPEARING BEFORE THE COURT:

# MOVED BY COMMR. Muras, SECONDED BY COMMR. Weishuhn.

Commr. McBroom, vote for X, vote against. Commr. Weishuhn, vote for X, vote against Commr. Berckenhoff, vote for X, vote against Commr. Muras, vote for **X**, vote against Judge Janecka, vote for X, vote against

ACTION: Deferred until Friday October 13, 2017 with possible changes to Personnel Manual.

PERSONS APPEARING BEFORE THE COURT:

# MOVED BY COMMR. Muras, SECONDED BY COMMR. Berckenhoff.

Commr. McBroom, vote for X, vote against. Commr. Weishuhn, vote for X, vote against Commr. Berckenhoff, vote for X, vote against Commr. Muras, vote for X, vote against

Judge Janecka, vote for X, vote against

3. SUBJECT: Discuss, consider, and take appropriate action to appoint the Members of the three member Appeal Board, required by and in accordance with the Fayette County Flood Damage Prevention Regulations (the "Regulations") approved and effective July 3, 2017, each such member to serve a three year term on the Appeal Board to perform the duties authorized by the Regulations, and each such member shall be a resident of Fayette County and an owner of real property located in Fayette County.

ACTION: Deferred until Special Meeting on Friday October 13, 2017.

PERSONS APPEARING BEFORE THE COURT:

MOVED BY JUDGE Janecka, SECONDED BY COMMR. Muras.

Commr. McBroom, vote for **X**, vote against. Commr. Weishuhn, vote for **X**, vote against Commr. Berckenhoff, vote for **X**, vote against Commr. Muras, vote for **X**, vote against

Judge Janecka, vote for X, vote against

# VIII.

Meeting adjourned at 10:01 a seconded by Commissioner N			y Commissioner <b>Berckenhoff</b> , <b>0</b> .
APPROVED this		_	
Edward F. Janecka Fayette County Judge			
Jason McBroom			
Commissioner, Precinct 1			
Gary Weishuhn	The second secon		
Commissioner, Precinct 2			
Harvey Berckenhoff			
Commissioner, Precinct 3			
Tom Muras			
Commissioner, Precinct 4			
ATTEST:			
Julie Karstedt County Clerk			