#### MINUTES OF COMMISSIONERS' COURT MEETING

I.

Attached hereto is/are public notice(s) posted for the meeting of November 1, 2018.

II.

The minutes of the Special Meeting of Fayette County, Texas, Commissioners' Court held in the Commissioners' Courtroom (3<sup>rd</sup> floor – Room 303) at the Fayette County Courthouse located at 151 North Washington Street, La Grange, Texas

III.

Attendance: County Judge Ed Janecka, Present

County Commissioner – Precinct No. 1, Jason McBroom, Present

County Commissioner - Precinct No. 2, Gary Weishuhn, Present

County Commissioner - Precinct No. 3, Harvey Berckenhoff, Present

County Commissioner - Precinct No. 4, Tom Muras, Present

IV.

County Officials/County Personnel present during all or any part of the meeting: Julie Karstedt, County Clerk; Kathy Kleiber, County Auditor; Harold Streicher, Assistant County Attorney; Cassie Austin, Court Administrator; Janet Carrigan, Emergency Management Coordinator/Floodplain Administrator; Luke Sternadel, Road and Bridge #2;

V.

Persons in attendance during all of any part of the meeting: See attached "Exhibit A".

VI.

Meeting opened at 9:01 a.m. on motion by Commissioner Berckenhoff, seconded by Commissioner McBroom, votes for 5, votes against 0.

VII.

## PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE AMERICAN FLAG
PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE TEXAS FLAG

"Honor the Texas Flag; I pledge allegiance to thee, Texas, one state under God, one and indivisible."

INVOCATION

## **AGENDA ACTION:**

1. SUBJECT: Hear presentation from Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM), Mitigation Section, regarding Buyout/Acquisition Program concerning the Hurricane Harvey Disaster DR4332, and consider, discuss, and take appropriate action.

ACTION: Accepted all comments from Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM), Mitigation Section, regarding Buyout/Acquisition Program concerning the Hurricane Harvey Disaster DR4332.

PERSONS APPEARING BEFORE THE COURT: Janet Carrigan, Emergency Management/Floodplain Administrator; Dudly Piland; Dave Jackson; TDEM;

MOVED BY COMMR. McBroom, SECONDED BY COMMR. Weishuhn.

Commr. McBroom, vote for X, vote against. \_\_ Commr. Weishuhn, vote for X, vote against Commr. Berckenhoff, vote for X, vote against \_\_ Commr. Muras, vote for X, vote against \_\_ Judge Janecka, vote for X, vote against

2. SUBJECT: Enter into closed (executive) session to consult with attorney, and/or to deliberate on matters concerning real property, pursuant to Government Code, Sections 551.071 and 551.072, respectively, with final action, decision or vote to be taken in open session.

ACTION: Entered into closed (executive session) at 10:13 a.m..

### PERSONS APPEARING BEFORE THE COURT:

MOVED BY COMMR. Muras, SECONDED BY COMMR. Berckenhoff. Commr. McBroom, vote for X, vote against.

Commr. McBroom, vote for **X**, vote against. \_ Commr. Weishuhn, vote for **X**, vote against

Commr. Berckenhoff, vote for X, vote against \_\_\_

Commr. Muras, vote for X, vote against\_\_\_\_

Judge Janecka, vote for **X**, vote against

3.	<b>SUBJECT:</b>	Return	and	reconvene	to	open	meeting.	
----	-----------------	--------	-----	-----------	----	------	----------	--

ACTION: Reconvened to open meeting at 11:11 a.m..

PERSONS APPEARING BEFORE THE COURT:

MOVED BY COMMR. Berckenhoff, SECONDED BY COMMR.	Muras
Commr. McBroom, vote for X, vote against.	
Commr. Weishuhn, vote for X, vote against	
Commr. Berckenhoff, vote for X, vote against	
Commr. Muras, vote for X, vote against	
Judge Janecka, vote for X, vote against	

4. SUBJECT: Consider and take appropriate action, vote, or decision deemed necessary concerning the matters deliberated in closed session.

ACTION: Authorized Emergency Management Coordinator, Janet Carrigan, to file the application for Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, DR4332, for buyout/acquisition for Fayette County.

PERSONS APPEARING BEFORE THE COURT:

MOVED BY JUDGE Janecka, SECONDED BY COMMR. Muras.

Commr. McBroom, vote for X, vote against.

Commr. Weishuhn, vote for X, vote against

Commr. Berckenhoff, vote for X, vote against

Commr. Muras, vote for X, vote against

Judge Janecka, vote for X, vote against

# VIII.

Meeting adjourned at 11:12 seconded by Commissioner	2 a.m., November r Berckenhoff, vo	r 1, 2018, on motion botes for 5, votes agains	by Commission of the st. 0.	er McBroom,
APPROVED this	day of	, 2018.		
Edward F. Janecka				
Fayette County Judge				
Jason McBroom				
Commissioner, Precinct 1				
Gary Weishuhn				
Commissioner, Precinct 2		*		
Harvey Berckenhoff				
Commissioner, Precinct 3				
Tom Muras				
Commissioner, Precinct 4				
A TOTAL CITY				
ATTEST:				
Julie Karstedt				
County Clerk				