Texas Counties Deliver
Emergency Management
Craig Moreau
Chief of Emergency Management and Homeland Security
-Emergency Management Coordinator

Address: 151 N Washington St., Room 304
La Grange, TX  78945
Office Phone: (979) 968-6469
Fax Number: (979) 968-8621


Map of Coronavirus Cases

Emergency Management is the branch of Fayette County that is in charge of preparing for and response to emergency situations.  To accomplish this Emergency Management has developed the county's emergency management plan.   This plan provides the framework upon which Fayette County prepares for, responds to and performs its emergency response functions during times of natural, man-made, or national emergencies.  The plan is based on the four phases of Emergency Management which are:

  • Mitigation - Those activities which eliminate or reduce the probability of disaster.

  • Preparedness - Those activities which governments, organizations, and individuals develop to save lives and minimize damage.

  • Response - Those actions to minimize loss of life and property damage and provide emergency assistance.

  • Recovery - Those short and long-term activities which restore county operations and help return the county to a normal state.

When Fayette County faces an emergency, Emergency Management works with appropriate county departments as well as various city, state, and federal agencies to respond effectively and quickly provide for the continuity of services to the public.

Emergency Management also provides public education and training.  It plans and holds training exercises with county departments and outside agencies.  It advises and warns the public through the local radio stations, sirens, and the DPS about the severity of the emergency and the response and recovery under way.   In addition Emergency Management is available to make presentations to civic an business groups on emergency preparedness.