Texas Counties Deliver – learn how county government serves you
Fayette County Historical Commission

Our county historical commission's purpose is to identify and document local historical sites, persons and occurrences; attempt to preserve those sites that are endangered; and to promote local history.

Historical commission members are appointed by the Commissioners Court.


Officers and Committee Chairmen

Chairman: Bobbie Nash

Co-Chairman: Gary E. McKee

Secretary: W.O. Wood

Treasurer: Shirley Schaeffer

Cemeteries Chairman: Kathy Carter

Footprints of Fayette Chairman: Rox Ann Johnson, Greg Walker, Sylvia Hebert & Kathy Carter

Oral History Chairman: Michelle Susberry Hill, Ed.D

Preservation Action for Endangered Landmarks Chairman: Pat Johnson and Julie Stroup

Historical Markers Chairman: Open

Other Contact Information

Mailing Address: 252 W. Colorado St,  La Grange

Office Hours: By Appointment Only

Office Phone: 979-968-6469



The Fayette County Historical Commission meets the third Monday of odd-numbered months at 6:30 p.m. Our meeting location changes among places of historical interest. All meetings are open to the public.


Links to Some of Our Projects

Historical Markers and Memorials in Fayette County, Tx

Historical Markers

Footprints of Fayette Articles


Related Links

Texas State Historical Commission

Texas Historic Sites Atlas

The Handbook of Texas Online

Fayette Heritage Museum and Archives

Texas Beyond History